Blog #6: 105 days left - Reisverslag uit Helsinki, Finland van Anouk Lamers - WaarBenJij.nu Blog #6: 105 days left - Reisverslag uit Helsinki, Finland van Anouk Lamers - WaarBenJij.nu

Blog #6: 105 days left

Door: Anouk

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anouk

30 Maart 2015 | Finland, Helsinki

And I’m still enjoying my time :) To be fairly honest, I do miss home. I think about returning home in summer every day. Don’t get me wrong, I love it here and I’m not homesick. But I did leave my life behind to move to another country all by myself. And I have a good life in The Netherlands. I have nothing to complain about, so of course I miss it.

Work here is going really well. I know a lot of stuff and sometimes it’s even boring… As a waitress, when it’s a slow day there’s always something to do. You can polish the cutlery or start folding napkins for the rest of the week. As a receptionist (especially as a trainee) there isn’t really anything to do after the daily tasks which are finished in the morning. This means that some days go a little slow, but with all the nice colleagues it is still a good day. And it gives me time to work on my school reports! I just love the rush hours, when there’s a queue who all need to check out or check in and you don’t have time to do anything else. I love it, time flies :)

As the people on Facebook already have seen, I have watched my first ice hockey game last week! It was so cool to see, it’s much more fun than football. It all goes so fast, a lot of times I just lost sight of the puck, haha! I also went out for dinner with a colleague at a nice Spanish restaurant and went out with two other colleagues at an Irish Pub. The pub is huge, it’s more a club. And it was soooo crowded! But still, nice place to go out :)

Last night I visited Jaana and Vesa in Klaukkala and saw Matti and Annele (friends we met 4 years ago) quickly. I had a good night :) They are the closest I have to family here in Finland, which means I’m always happy to see them. Now I just need to plan a trip to Joensuu to visit Etti and Perttu…

I have joined the 30-day squat challenge. It’s exactly as the name says: doing squats for 30 days. On the 30th day I should be able to do 250 squats… Ha, who am I kidding?! But I’m going to try either way…

I was secretly hoping summer would be early this year, since it was such nice weather two weeks ago. Unfortunately, it started snowing again today and the weather forecast for the next 10 days are depressing… I have to be patient, I guess! I do hope summer will come around May, which would mean my visitors will be very happy and I will have two full months of summer in Finland. Summer is the best season here, Finland is so beautiful in summer!

Tomorrow I’m going to do so-called “hot yoga” with two of my colleagues. It’s like yoga, but in a sauna-like room. Okay………… Very curious about it! I’ll let you know how it was :)

I don’t really have much more news actually.. I hope you enjoyed reading this one!

Love,
Anouk

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anouk

Welcome! I've decided to write a blog while I'm doing my internship in Finland. This way, all my family and friends (and other interested people) can read about my new experiences. It will be in English, because I think there will be some Finnish people as well who will read my blog.

Actief sinds 28 Jan. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 310
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5380

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Februari 2015 - 14 Juli 2015

Internship Helsinki

Landen bezocht: