Familyyyyyyyyyy <3 - Reisverslag uit Helsinki, Finland van Anouk Lamers - WaarBenJij.nu Familyyyyyyyyyy <3 - Reisverslag uit Helsinki, Finland van Anouk Lamers - WaarBenJij.nu

Familyyyyyyyyyy <3

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anouk

22 Mei 2015 | Finland, Helsinki

Woops, it has been almost a month since my last blog! Sorry about that, I have been really busy... Mainly with doing non-work related stuff that is!

Slowly summer is coming to Finland! And it is lovely. The city is more green, lively and I had no idea that this much people live in Helsinki! (don't count all people (mainly Asian) with cameras who keep literally running into you in the city centre...) Where did all the tourists suddenly come from? It seems that the tourist season starts in May in Helsinki. Also, I have noticed that I don't count as a tourist anymore. I am almost ashamed to take my (sorry, Tijs's) camera out of my bag and I get annoyed by all the slow-walking tourists. That's a good sign, I guess!

I just love May. This year, May is definitely my favourite month. After two months without seeing anyone I love I was in desperate need of a loving hug. Luckily, Bas came in the first week of May! We had a blast. Yes, I was a tourist for a couple of days. I showed him around the city to see the tourist hot spots and also to see some things I hadn't seen myself yet. We visited Suomenlinna (Fortress Island, for the non-Finns ;)) where we crawled through the tunnels for an hour or so. Awesome! On Saturday, we visited Tallinn in Estonia. It's really easy (and quite cheap) to take the boat from Helsinki to Tallinn. Tallinn is a beautiful city and I experienced my first day of summer there! Also, now I'm legally in Finland for my full internship (long story, don't ask. And don't worry, I have never been here illegally!).

After Bas went home I worked for about a week. After that Tijs was already here! Missed him so much... We didn't do a lot, but we didn't need to. Of course, we enjoyed the sunny days by walking around the city, but Tijs had already seen Helsinki in March. We just enjoyed being together again for as long as it lasted (not very long... Just a long weekend). Saying goodbye was a liiiiittle easier this time. This was probably due to the fact that next time we see each other I won't let him go anymore (maybe to work, but that's about it ;)) and that my parents are here next week, which means I have something else to look forward to.

Yaaaaaaaaaay, mom, dad and Marlou are here next week! :) We are first having dinner in Klaukkala, where I will probably stay as well. In the next days I will show them around Helsinki and we will visit Porvoo. More about that later :)

School? Oh yeah.. My supervisors (both at school and at work) are really happy with how I'm doing. My midterm evaluation went really well and I'm happy with the results. Just 7 more weeks! Amazing... The three months went so fast. I'm afraid I'll run out of time here before I have done everything I want to do!

Oh, I don't like Dutch guests anymore by the way. Some of them are seriously rude (or I've just never noticed before how some so-called jokes are actually just plain rude to foreigners/strangers). I also can't check them in or out in Dutch. My Limburgs dialect is doing (almost) fine, but my official Dutch 'ABN' is rapidly decreasing. I do talk slower (applause to myself!), because I have to think how to form a proper Dutch sentence. I do regularly (no, sorry. Always.) forget the most random words in Dutch. Floor? Swimming pool? Desk? Swype a creditcard? Main street? Nope. Don't have a clue. Sorry. If it weren't for my Dutch (Limburgs...) accent, people wouldn't believe me when I say that I'm Dutch... That's gonna be fun when I get back home in summer!

Do I still work? Sure I do. When there's no family here :) I saved up some extra days during the last two months, which means I can take a few extra days off while family is here. Like a few weeks of holiday split up during May. Work is going well. My colleagues are still really nice and fun to work with and I really do enjoy my job!

I guess that's about it for this time! Take care and see you in about 7 weeks!

Love,
Anouk

  • 22 Mei 2015 - 21:56

    Bertine:

    Je Engels is er volgens mij wel op vooruit gegaan! En nou ja hoeveel mensen spreken Nederlands wereldwijd? Toch veel minder dan Engels. Wij (Nan en ik) hebben eerst nog een gezellig etentje met Marjo en Hans alvorens ze mogen afreizen naar Finland ;-) je reisverhalen blijf ik volgen zolang het duurt. Daarna veel plezier in Roermond met Tijs. Enjoy your new life.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anouk

Welcome! I've decided to write a blog while I'm doing my internship in Finland. This way, all my family and friends (and other interested people) can read about my new experiences. It will be in English, because I think there will be some Finnish people as well who will read my blog.

Actief sinds 28 Jan. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 276
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5413

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Februari 2015 - 14 Juli 2015

Internship Helsinki

Landen bezocht: